Baked Rice Paper Spring Rolls

I’ve had these rice paper wrappers in my cupboard for ages, when I first realised I was gluten intolerent I thought these might make up for the lack of bread but they’ve been gathering dust for months now and I thought I really must do something with them. 

These little spring rolls make a healthier alternative to the deep fried ones, as delicious as they are, and are pretty straightforward to make.  I went for a veggie option but I’m sure some shredded pork, duck or chicken would go very well in these.

Ingredients:

Makes about 8

8 rice paper wrappers

6 spring onions, shredded

1 carrot, grated

A couple of handfuls of spinach

A teaspoon or two of curry powder

Some soy sauce, I used Tamari

A clove of garlic

About an inch of ginger

A handful of dried vermicelli rice noodles ( the really fine ones)

Some sweet chilli sauce for dipping

Some spray oil

Method:

Grate the ginger and garlic into a hot pan, add the carrot and spring onions, fry for a min or so, add curry powder and soy, fry for a min.  Then add your spinach, cook quickly until starting to wilt then set aside in a bowl.  Soak your vermicelli rice noodles and add to the veg mix.

Preheat your oven to 220 degrees.

Soak your rice paper wrappers one at a time in some warm water for about 10 seconds, I think its easier to do this as you go so they don’t dry out or stick together.  Lay out your wrapper and dollop a little of the veg and noodle mix along the centre, roll and wrap, tucking the ends in as you go and lay on a greased baking tray.

Once they are all rolled and on the baking tray, spray genourously with oil, I guess you could brush some oil on if you don’t have any spray oil.

Put into a hot oven for about 20/25 min until crisp.  They don’t need to brown, mine did slightly but as long as they are crisp they are done so have a little check after 20 min and then decide.

Serve with some sweet chilli sauce.

Retro Saturday Lunch

So I still had some iceburg lettuce in the fridge from last weekend, that stuff really lasts well, and I was thinking what else could I do with it and then prawn cocktail sprung to mind.  I love a nice prawn cocktail and as dated as it might be, done right it is a delicious little starter or light meal.  Easy to make and light and crunchy served with some yummy iceberg and one of my  favourite ingredients the delectable avocado. 

My Marie Rose sauce was made with some creme fraiche, tomato ketchup, a splash of Worcester sauce, a squeeze of lemon and a little salt and pepper.  I mixed it up, defrosted some prawns and mixed them into the sauce.  Served very simply and very seventies styley on some shredded iceberg and some sliced avocado.  Yeah baby!