Lemon and Ginger Punch

I was going to entitle this drink ‘Hard Lemonade’ because I had drunk one of said drinks at Pitt Cue Co earlier in the week and it was so delicious I’ve been thinking about it ever since. I had a couple of experiments with gin and lemons yesterday and made a pretty decent drink glass by glass but I wanted something I could get ready ahead of time and just pour when the urge took me and so this punch was born. Also after spending most of half term coughing, spluttering and blowing my nose I thought a nice lemon and honey drink was in order as it is medicinal isn’t it?!

It’s a light, refreshing and restorative little tipple that works well chilled over ice.  You could easily add gin or vodka to this but when I remembered I had this gingerbread rum leftover from Christmas it seemed to be fate.

Ingredients:

  • 4 lemons
  • 1 nugget of stem ginger
  • 1 dessert spoon of sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of honey
  • a slug of syrup from the stem ginger jar
  • about 3/4 pint of water
  • gingerbread rum or booze of your choice

Method:

Zest and juice 4 lemons into a jug, grate in the ginger and then stir in all the other ingredients and top up with water.  Add your glug of rum about 4/6 shots (?).  Chill the drink in the fridge for an hour or so and serve over ice.

Talk to me!

