Chai Kheer with Spiced Plum Compote

I’ve made Kheer before and posted it here but this time I wanted to add another element.  I’m a big fan of Chai, I drink it every morning and somehow feel a little short changed when I have to settle for regular tea at work.  I drink it sweetened with milk and love that early morning cuddle it provides as I blearily get my self ready for the day ahead.   I’ve even got my 3 year old hooked on the stuff, I’m not saying I dole it out in beakers or anything but she always, always asks to have a sip and by that she means finish the mug, so I’ve learnt to share, or at least put the kettle on for another.

If you didn’t already know, Kheer is an Indian rice pudding made with basmati rice and flavoured with cardamom, more likely to be served cold it makes a lovely sweet creamy ending to meal, or whenever, in fact the last lot I made got gobbled up eagerly for breakfast one morning.

I bought some beautiful British purpley pink Oval plums in the greengrocer the other day and that settled it, as delicious as they were raw they made a lipsmacking compote that cuts through the creamy sweetness of the Kheer and makes a perfect companion.

Serves 2/3

Ingredients:

  • 1 pint of whole milk
  • 1 tablespoon of basmati rice
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar
  • 3 cardamom pods, lightly crushed
  • 2 Chai teabags

For the compote:

  • 8 Oval plums (or plums of your choice)

    Spiced Plum Compote

  • 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 dessert spoonful of agave syrup (or sugar/honey)

Method:

Heat the milk in a sauce pan until just coming up to simmer.  Add cardamom, teabags and rice.  Simmer gently for about 45 min until the milk has reduced by half.

Whilst the rice is cooking make the compote.  Slice the plums into quarters, add to a small hot sauce pan with the cinnamon and syrup and cook until the plums soften slightly.

Once the Kheer is ready leave to cool.  It is at it’s best served luke warm or room temperature with a dollop of compote in the middle.

The Chai Kheer also works well on it’s own or with a garnish of chopped pistachios and the compote is a great instant pudding mixed with yoghurt, cream or served warm on ice cream, mmm I’m hungry now, are you?

Talk to me!

