Courgette, Feta and Mint Burgers

I suspended the weekly supermarket shop this week for a couple of reasons; 1.  I’m skint, 2.  I’m sick of the Saturday morning trudge round the aisles, and 3.  I want to do more with vegetables this week and if all that fails I’m going to try and use up some of the contents of the freezer (which contains meat!).  So instead of the monotony of the Saturday morning supermarket run, I relaxed on my morning off and spent the afternoon taking a little stroll down to my favourite greengrocer in Addiscombe.  They’ve recently had a fire so they’ve moved a little down the road to what was a small deli and set up shop there.  It’s still great though and they have oodles of gorgeous, fresh produce with lots of variety to get that recipe brain ticking.  I bought lots of things, in fact I was one of those annoying mums who load the pushchair with too many bags, but it was worth it.  I bought some gorgeous veggies and I hope to post another recipe of my awesome cauliflower curry later.  So to whet your appetite here is a little taster in the form of these lovely, light burgers.  I say burgers, I didn’t put them in a bun, but I’m not sure what else to call these little beauties.  They would be smashing in a bun or with a nice salad, a few chips or wedges or unadulterated in a large portion with a trickle of sweet chilli sauce.

Serves 1 on their own, or 2 with additions, makes about 4 burgers   

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium courgette, grated
  • 4 spring onions, roughly chopped
  • A gluten free muffin (or a slice or 2 of stale bread)
  • A third of a packet of feta, crumbled
  • A handful of mint
  • An egg
  • Salt and pepper

Method:

Blitz your bread, mint and spring onions in a food processor until crumbed.  Mix crumbs with grated courgette, feta and egg then form into patties.  It makes quite a wet mixture, to compensate you can squeeze some of the juice from the courgette before you add it to the mix and once you have made the mix and formed into patties refrigerate for a while to set the mixture. 

Fry the patties in a little olive oil until browned on both sides.  Be gentle when turning, but have faith the egg will set it together! Serve on their own for a full on veggie burger feast for one or share in buns, with a salad and maybe a few cheeky chips!

p.s. If you don’t like feta (I’m talking to you E ;), try halloumi, grated – this was what I had intended to do but my local shop didn’t stock any so I used up the feta in my fridge instead.

Talk to me!

