Weekend Shenanagans and Easy Peasy Sweet Jacket Potato

Good afternoon! I am still recovering from one of my oldest and dearest friend’s 30th birthday party at the weekend.  I would love to show you pictures of my rather inebriated attempt at barbecuing late on Saturday night but unfortunately (not) I have no evidence of said activity.  So luckily I can now spread the word of my rather inspired veggie burger creation.  Ok, ok, here’s the truth, I burnt quite a lot of halloumi that night and in an attempt to reconcile with the veggie quota of the party I had to fish around in the kitchen (with some help from some ace sous chefs, might I add) and rustle up a concoction off the top my head.  The results were some very delectable Halloumi and Carrot Burgers consisting of grated carrot, grated halloumi, bread crumbs (I improvised with the grater and a bit of rustic tearing), paprika, basil and egg. Mix the ingredients in a bowl and form into patties then transfer to the BBQ for a quick grilling, and da da! A little cautious turning and transferring later,  sit back and wait for your praise.

Anyways in terms of a proper recipe for today, one involving a picture, I had a little scan through my hard drive and found this simple jacket potato filling idea and thought I would share.  I know this is not fine dining, but it is tasty and it’s the best I can come up with whilst still feeling the effects of too many Jagermeisters, eurrgghh, never again!

Ingredients:

Sweet potatoes

For the filling:

An onion, sliced

Some chorizo, chopped into little chunks

A red pepper, sliced

A blob of creme fraiche

Butter and salt

Method:

Bake your sweet potatoes in a hot oven.  Whilst the potatoes are cooking fry the onion, pepper and chorizo until soft and lightly browned.  When the potatoes are cooked, split, fill with salt and butter, the onion, pepper and chorizo and top with a blob of creme fraiche.  What more could you want? Simple, no hassle supper served with a salad.

Sweet Potato Jackets with Chorizo, Pepper and Onion Filling

P.S.  The Roasted Red Pepper Burgers had an outing at this BBQ and were a big success, if you a fancy a meaty addition to your BBQ/grill then look here.

One thought on “Weekend Shenanagans and Easy Peasy Sweet Jacket Potato

Talk to me!

