Restaurants I Love…

I thought I’d just record a little record of some of the most wonderful restaurants I’ve been lucky enough to dine in over the last few years, I wish this list was longer so would love you to share your recommendations here too.  Do make a comment and tell me about somewhere you love to eat.

  • The Banana Leaf, Croydon – I’ve written a review about my beloved local eatery here.  It’s South Indian food at it’s best in a friendly, family run set up.
  • Y-Ming, Soho, London – If I’m in london and fancy a good Chinese I go here, my dad recommended this place and it’s great.  Jay Rayner wrote an excellent review of this place recently and it reminded me I was long overdue a visit.
  • Quilon, London – Another amazing South Indian restaurant set in the rather swanky address of Buckingham Gate, this is definitely a place for a treat but also does very reasonable lunch deals that satisfy my frequent compulsion for South Indian in style.  It’s refined yet authentic and does an amazing (gf) bread/pancake called Appam, made from fermented rice flour that sates my desire for naan or paratha with a fluffy, spongy alternative I haven’t seen elsewhere.
  • Paradise Garden, Croydon – This Iranian/Persian restaurant sits alongside many eateries and bars along the Croydon nightlife high road (South End/High Street).  You might miss it if you weren’t in the know but step inside this little gem and you are transported into a little bit of Persian heaven.   It’s beautiful, the food is delicious (and seriously plentiful) and the service down to earth, helpful and friendly.  I went there for the first time only last Saturday but was suitably impressed, mouth-watering mezze style starters and ginormous mains lovingly prepared and cooked for your delection.
  • Scotts, Mayfair, London – Perhaps, again, somewhere for special occasions only (well until we all win the lottery) but I did love this restaurant, I had a meal here for my 26th birthday (3 years ago) when my daughter was just a few months old.  It’s a really opulent restaurant with a beautiful bar running through the centre where those who can  just pop in for a quick lunch of oysters and champagne (one day!). My dad worked here as a young chef, I think that is really why I wanted to mention it (!), it’s since changed hands but there is history there.
Tumblr_lh4kwwmaaa1qeosc5o1_500_large

Image courtesy of 'Me Likes' via 'we heart it'

So where do you like to eat?

3 thoughts on “Restaurants I Love…

  1. A favourite of mine is Clos Magiorre in King Street,Covent Garden.
    http://www.closmaggiore.com/home
    Perfect for dining out with your loved one. The cuisine is influenced from both Tuscany and Provence. They have a tasting menu at £59 for six courses which is competitively priced. They offer paired wines to match and the service is very attentive. I have eaten in a few 3* star establishments and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience and although it does not have a star (yet), I think Clos Magiorre is more accessible on price. If you get a chance to eat there, ask for a table at the back of the dining room. It has a very intimate setting, beautifully decorated, with a roaring fire.

    Like

  2. Ahh looks like we are from the same neck of the woods! Thanks for the local recommendations, am craving a night out with the husband and we never know where to go. Thank you for stopping by my blog, I’ll pop back here regularly to get some foodie inspiration. Fay X

    Like

Talk to me!

