Norfolk Asparagus in a Balsamic Dressing

I saw some English asparagus in my local green grocers this morning at a bargain price so I couldn’t resist and bought some.  I was trying to decide what would be the best way to serve it, I love it with a poached egg, or with hollandaise but in the end settled for the method below.  This is a really easy starter or light lunch dish, I had mine for lunch.

Ingredients:

Asparagus (a bunch or 2 depending on how many people your feeding and what for, I ate a whole bunch for lunch)

Balsamic vinegar (try and use the good stuff if you can)

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Parmesan

Method:

Wash and trim your asparagus, I favour the snapping technique where you bend the asparagus about an inch from the bottom and let it break where the woody bit ends.  Heat your griddle, I used my old trusty George Forman (I had great plans one year to griddle all my food to get healthy but now it’s mostly used for toasted sandwiches). 

Mix together your balsamic, oil and seasoning.  I haven’t given measurements but for a dressing it’s usually 3 to 1, oil to vinegar but I like to just guess and then taste it. 

Griddle your asparagus for 2/3 minutes until cooked, you want it still fairly crunchy.  Dress the asparagus in the vinaigrette then transfer to a plate and top with shavings of parmesan (use a potato peeler).

To bulk this up for lunch I served mine with some Parma ham that was reduced in Sainsbury’s.

 

p.s. look at these lovely dandelions we picked in the park this morning, think summer is back on its way again!

Talk to me!

