Pear, Chocolate and Almond Cake

I have two inspirations for this post, 1.  Lynn at http://clandestinecakeclub.co.uk/about/recipes-2/spicy-pear-cake/, I was tweeting the other night and got distracted by this delicious spiced pear cake and also 2. a memory of a summer holiday in France as a child eating Crepes Poire Belle Helene, a heady mix of pancake, pear, vanilla ice cream and dark chocolate sauce, heaven!

This recipe uses the same frangipane base as my apple and almond cake posted last week.

Anyway I set to work the other day and this was the result:

Ingredients:

3 ripe pears

3 eggs

150g ground almonds

150g sugar

150g butter

2 dessert spoons of amaretto

About 60g of dark chocolate, chopped into shards

Method:

Set the oven to 180 degrees (fan). Grease a spring form round cake tin. In fact line the tin, PLEASE, I didn’t and as delicious as this cake was it would not come out of the tin whole so I have had to prise individual slices out or (and this is what has happened mostly) I have dug out spoonfuls every time I felt peckish!

Cream the butter and sugar. Whisk the eggs then beat into the creamed butter mix.  Stir in the almonds and then fold in the chopped chocolate.  Pour the batter into the tin and shake it out so it fills the sides. 

Then peel and core 3 ripe pears. I used a potato peeler and then a teaspoon to core them.  Half the pears and sit on top of the cake mix, in the end I could only squeeze in 5 halves so we guzzled down the remaining pear just to check it’s suitability.

Put cake into the oven for about 45 min.  It’s done when lightly golden and a knife comes out clean.

Talk to me!

