Rhubarb Rhubarb

I love rhubarb, I love the word rhubarb, I love the colour of rhubarb, I love the taste of rhubarb.

"rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb"

In memory of my one of my favourite childhood cartoons I was going to make Rhubarb and Custard but in the end I just made a compote.  However, this would work really well with custard, cream, panacotta, all sorts of things really.  I ate some last night with some pan fried mackerel fillets and some sauteed potatoes.  I also then snaffled some up warm with ice cream and today I think i might make a little fool out of the remaining compote, some cream, vanilla and a little sugar.

This compote is super easy to make and as you can see from above goes with lots and lots of different things.

Rhubarb and Ginger Compote:

Rhubarb, cut into short sticks

Sugar

Stem ginger, about one nugget chopped finely and a slurp of the syrup from the jar

Juice of an orange, I used a very lovely blood orange from my local green grocers but any will do

Method:

Pop all the ingredients in a pan and cook gently until Rhubarb is tender but not completely collapsed.   Sugar wise, I shook some in from the jar, rhubarb can take quite a lot so taste as you go, you can add more at the end so keep trying and you’ll find your perfect balance.

Serve warm as a dessert with custard, french toast, cold with panacotta, mixed with youghurt, cream or as a sweet and sour element to a nice bit of mackerel as described above.

Talk to me!

