‘You Don’t Bring Me Flowers’ – Review

I was in Lee today running over a few boxes for a friend who is moving soon and she suggested we go to this lovely little cafe come florists for a little coffee and cake.  ‘You don’t bring me flowers’ is in Hither Green, right next to the station.  It’s a really endearing, vintage style shop filled with little curiosities as well as it’s delectable cake collection.  There is seating downstairs and up and we managed to bag ourselves a lovely little corner upstairs amongst the display of a local artist’s embroidered paintings, some cute children’s clothes hung from the walls and just the best eclectic, vintage decor I’ve seen.  It’s just how I’d love my flat to look like if I could ever pull my finger out and get things sorted.

We ordered a rich and frothy Green and Blacks hot chocolate, served in a delicate floral mug, a black coffee, served in a retro print cup, and some beautiful cakes delivered on charmingly, unmatching vintage plates.  We ordered a Pink Vanilla Cupcake chosen by the most sophisticated of 2 and half year olds, a slice of Almond and Raspberry Cake (gf) and a croissant.  The cup cake was licked and cradled until the sugar high peaked with a few squeals of excitement then the leftovers wrapped up to take home for pudding later.  The cake was one of the lightest gluten free almond sponges I have ever tasted and was a good old wedge of Victoria Sponge style heaven. 

Downstairs, as well as cakes, you can buy sandwiches, an array of beverages as well as beautiful cut flowers and other gifts.  The place is filled with unusual vintage finds, cool decor and cosy seating areas to sit, chat, drink and eat away the day.

I’m not sure my photos do it justice so if you’re interested check their website out or pop along.

http://www.youdontbringmeflowers.co.uk/

Talk to me!