Spiced Chicken Pilaf

I’m not sure if this is a pilaf or a byriani, what I do know is its probably not very authentic either way but it worked and was tasty so that’ll do for now.  This is something I’ve steered clear of in the past as I have never been able to cook rice that well and after a miserable attempt at something like this earlier in the year I nearly gave up.  But, after taking on the sound advice of my father in terms of what ratio of rice to water I needed, I had another go and actually this is pretty easy and has very delicious results ( the secret is 2-1 water to rice).  I’ve also burnt my tongue and three fingers, which is also a good sign, as I literally couldn’t wait to tuck in and kept forgetting the lid of the pan was hot and that the contents that were steaming away were actually lava like in their temperature.  Anyways have a look and have a go, this is going on as a regular in my flat from now on as it was dead easy, even after a long day at work and any left overs are easily transported to work the next day for lunch.

This makes enough for about 4 people…

Ingredients:

Half a pint of basmati rice, washed well

1 large onion, chopped

1 large carrot, chopped up into little bits

3 heaped teaspoons of mild curry powder

2 teaspoons of veg boullion

500g of  chicken thighs, skinned, boned and chopped up in to bitesize pieces

1 pint of hot (just boiled water)

A thumb sized piece of ginger, chopped finely

2/3 garlic cloves, chopped finely

Method:

Pre heat oven to 200 degrees.  Soften onions and carrots in a pan with oil.  Cook until translucent and soft. Add ginger and garlic.   Add curry powder.  Stir and fry for a min.  Add chicken, stir and fry until lightly sealed.  Add washed rice and stir to coat in oil, onion and chicken mix.  Fry for a min.  Add hot boiled water and bouillon (or stock cube or better still stock!).  Stir.  Put on lid.  Put in oven.  Relax for 15 to 20 min.  Take out. Voila! One pot perfection.  Season if necessary.  I had a little sweet chilli with mine as I’m a bit of a condiment fiend but it’s fine without.  If you wanted to make this into a bigger meal you could make the curry sauce I have listed in previous posts and serve some of that with it, or maybe a veg curry and maybe some onion bhajis to make a full on feast.

P.s. I apologise about the crappy pictures, I only seem to get good ones when I have some natural light and with these dark evenings there’s not alot about.  I promise to try harder…

Talk to me!

