Carrot Halwa

Grated carrots

I have been craving this pudding since a trip to the Banana Leaf, a south Indian restaurant in Croydon, over a year ago.  They served it there warm with ice cream and ever since I have been dreaming about it and searching the net for a credible and fairly simple recipe.  Yesterday I finally found a recipe on  http://www.cookitsimply.com/recipe-0010-0889i9.html.  I halved the ingredient list and started to prepare the dish.  Half way through cooking, whilst browsing the net and looking at other recipes and youtube videos of how to cook it, I decided to adapt the method slightly and my ingredients as I didn’t have any ghee (and was not about to start clarifying butter) and had no pistachios.

This is a truly sweet and addictive dessert, I kind of wished I had gone the whole hog and made more but theres always next time!

Ingredients:

225 g carrots, grated
450ml milk
60g sugar
2 cardamom pods
2 heaped teaspoons of butter
30 g (2 tbsp) raisins
30 g (2 tbsp) pistachio nuts, skinned and chopped ( I didn’t have these but I think they are well worth putting in if you can)
Method:
Bring the milk to the boil in a large saucepan with the sugar and cardamon pods.  Add the grated carrots and simmer very gently for about an hour or until the liquid has evapourated.  Stir mixture from time to time.  Add the raisins to the pot towards the end of cooking.  Serve hot or cold.  It’s great warm with ice cream but just as luscious cold out of the fridge.
Tip:  I noticed that on the youtube clip they used a much wider, shallower pan than I used, this should speed up the evapouration of the milk and not have you waiting for a whole hour for this delicous dessert to get cooked.

Talk to me!

